Getting Out More – Part 1

In my last post I mentioned wanting to get out more because going to work five days a week can get quite monotonous. I’ve been living on my own for more than 3 months but I’ve not really lived anything noteworthy (hence the lack of blog posts) and I can get a bit too engrossed in the stresses of work making me forget to live while I’m young enough to do what I want (within reason).

So last weekend I took the first step to leading a more exciting life. Remember that phrase, do something everyday that scares you? Well I did.

I got my ears pierced.

I know what you’re thinking “Is that all?!!”  but let me give you a little back story…

When I was a child (ten or eleven I think) I had my ears pierced after mithering my parents to let me have it done. Being the wimp that I was (and still am) I cried my eyes out. Then about ten minutes later I nearly passed out. Did I mention how much of a wimp I am? And over-dramatic.

After all of this drama getting them pierced…I let them heal over after about 2 or 3 years.

Since then I’ve been really really reluctant to get them re-pierced. Don’t get me wrong, I wanted them done but I just didn’t have the guts. But last week I finally plucked up the courage to get it done.

With my boyfriend for comfort I queued up with all the five year old girls waiting for the inevitable pain and sheer embarrassment. After watching one particular five year old girl in front of me burst into tears, I felt a little better that at least if I did cry, I wouldn’t have been beaten by a kid (Ha!).

Then came my turn. I went to sit on the chair and couldn’t reach. Great start. They make children a lot taller than they used to I swear! Once the seat was lowered I sat there clutching the arms like I was about to be admitted for major surgery. I even opted for the method of having both ears pierced at once so I didn’t run off with one ear pierced!

Then came the moment of truth…and it actually didn’t hurt as much as I was expecting.  Sorry to disappoint but the only emotion from me was a sigh of relief. Yes you heard that right, Sophie finally got some guts.

image

Apparently it’s not easy to get a picture of my ears…

So there it was, something that scared me. What should the next challenge or experience be? Let me know in the comments below.

Sophie x

6 thoughts on “Getting Out More – Part 1

  1. Alison Henrys says:

    Very truthful account about both experiences of ear piercing. Well done, very funny. Not sure what your next challenge should be, but I’m sure you’ll think of something x

    Like

  2. VIV WILLIS says:

    Good for you Sophie. So what earrings do you think you will like? Big hoops, little hoops, small earrings big earrings or maybe drop ones. Your next challenge, well let me see. How about a 10k run for charity or a little less challenging, a 5k run for charity? I`m sure you will think of something. xxx

    Like

Leave a comment